If I Had a Hammer

I have a life long dream of, not just being a master chocolatier (not really, I think it would ruin choc for me), but to build my own house in the woods. I know. I know. Many of us have this dream. One day. Perhaps.

And to be perfectly honest, after reading photographer Steve Carter‘s online diary of building an A-frame in the Scotish Highlands, I was nearly put off by the whole idea. What a nightmare. Before reading this I think I was pretty naive about time frames and the reliability of contractors. If you are interested in self-build, you really, really must read the process he went through. You may reconsider…though he managed to build a beautiful house in a beautiful remote setting. So I think it was worth it in the end!

Leave a Reply

